Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Are aftec extractors worth it?

nhyrum

I know a lot of people run these, and they're kinda the standard, last I checked. But reading through (I did a search) all I saw were guys having issues with them. Their claim is traditional 1911 style extensors straighten up over time, but I've seen people claim to have run a standard extractor for years without issue, but on the aftec you have to replace the springs all the time. I almost think a good quality extractor, such as the ed brown or a tool steel one would be good for basically a lifetime.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have been running AFTEC in all my 1911/2011 pistols for 20 years.  I have never had to change springs or broken one yet.  Knock on wood.  So, what's that tell ya.
Good to know. I figured you only hear about the issues. Does the hook need to be fitted/beveled or is it 100% drop in (well nothing is 100%)

38 minutes ago, nhyrum said:

Good to know. I figured you only hear about the issues. Does the hook need to be fitted/beveled or is it 100% drop in (well nothing is 100%)

They generally need tuned and fitted. I have them in two open guns and only problem was one of the caps disintegrated a year or two ago. And I do change springs occasionally. But they work great for me.

They generally need tuned and fitted. I have them in two open guns and only problem was one of the caps disintegrated a year or two ago. And I do change springs occasionally. But they work great for me.
Tuned how? I thought the whole point of the springs was to eliminate tuning. Does the hook need the fitting? I can do about everything myself, other than the hook

59 minutes ago, nhyrum said:

Tuned how? I thought the whole point of the springs was to eliminate tuning. Does the hook need the fitting? I can do about everything myself, other than the hook

They need to be fit with the FPS.