Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Best training books or dvds.

BamaShooter88

I have been looking for a very detailed training regimen. Something that has a day to day very specific training program for USPSA. I have heard of the Ben Stoeger books, the Steve Anderson books, and I found a Mike Seeklander year long training program. That is all I could find. What do y’all recommend. I don’t want just drills. I need something very specific like what to do each day and how many times. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I’m new to competition shooting. I have been shooting for many years. I am also a army vet. This is a whole new world though. I want to get as good as possible for next season. I’m just getting started this week at my first match.

Stoeger’s Dry Fire reloaded has a guide towards the back page which details the type of drill you are going to do on what day, how often and for what type of shooter (beginner, intermediate, expert).

I have the book along with his Skills and Drills.

Ben's new book Breakthrough Marksmanship is really good! I have most of his. This one really boils it down to what you NEED to know. I really like Dry Fire Reloaded. Skills and Drills Reloaded has tons of great info, but it does not seem well organized (to me) and was hard to really implement for me.

The new book boils it down to the meat only. I'd strongly suggest it with Skills and Drills as a back up if you want to get more into the micro breakdown of all things drill wise.

1 hour ago, Slalom45 said:

Ben's new book Breakthrough Marksmanship is really good! I have most of his. This one really boils it down to what you NEED to know. I really like Dry Fire Reloaded. Skills and Drills Reloaded has tons of great info, but it does not seem well organized (to me) and was hard to really implement for me.