Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Clearing Light Strikes During A Stage

Flea

Not sure if this is the right place for this post.

What is the best practice for clearing a light strike? Does it matter if it's the first shot of a stage? During the middle of the stage? Noobie here.

Thanks

Tap Rack Bang drills. Sometimes the mag is not fully inserted or you have a light strike etc. Slap the mag on the bottom to check that it's seated then rack the slide to clear the chamber and reset a new bullet. Fire. Just be careful to listen for a squib. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=35fz5j9LiX0

On 2/27/2021 at 10:09 AM, Youngeyes said:

Tap Rack Bang drills. Sometimes the mag is not fully inserted or you have a light strike etc. Slap the mag on the bottom to check that it's seated then rack the slide to clear the chamber and reset a new bullet. Fire. Just be careful to listen for a squib. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=35fz5j9LiX0

Im just getting into the sport but I have been shooting for about 22 years and I have never had a squib. I was talking to my friend that's a competitive shooter and he mentioned squib loads and gave me a brief description so I researched it a bit. My question is, how can you tell that it was a squib? Can you hear it go off with ear protection in or does it just depend. I know just shooting in the back yard if I was to run into an action not cycling I would take my time and investigate, but in competition training to rack a new round as fast as you can and keep moving seems like its gonna end badly. If there's somewhere on here I would see info like this im sorry. im new to this forum and haven't figured it all out yet.

Most important long term is to determine the cause of the light strikes.  It's between the gun and the ammunition.

Does factory ammunition work in the gun, or still deliver light strikes?  It the factory ammunition gives problems, it points to the gun.