Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shooting paper only at a match

Youngeyes

I've just found out that a match I'm shooting will be paper only. This is an attempt to speed things up. It's faster to tape than to reset steel. It also doesn't need calibration rechecks. I'm not very experienced, but I've seen challenges on shot placement take more time than steel calibration checks. Resetting a popper or plate is very quick. I enjoy the positive feedback of a well shot string of steel. Is steel such a real time waster that it is being eliminated in a level 2 match? Has this been done before and is of proven value? Will this be the new wave of USPSA shooting? I'm just asking as I don't have any real experience with a paper only scenario. Some paper only stages are fine. All of them? Not so much. What say the rest of you on this?

• Replies 84
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I think it's in poor taste to call out a match and a hard working MD on their choice of targets for a match.

That being said, it's a little boring, and I certainly wouldn't do it in a level II. But it's not my match and I respect the MD's decision.

I'll be working and shooting the match because, steel or no steel, the crew at BGSL know how to put on a match.

Failed calibrations equals reshoot. That takes time to complete.

A plate that is hit but fails to fall equals reshoot. That takes time to complete.

Back in "the day" matches were paper only until the invention and approval of the pepper popper.

The proof of the pudding is always in the tasting. If the shooters don't like the format, I can almost bet they will let the MD know.

Edited by Gary Stevens

The 3+ matches I get to shoot always include some steel.

I don't think it would speed our matches up any to leave out the steel.

A match without steel is like a steak without a potato. Still awesome but just feels incomplete.