Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I wish Production wasn't dying

j1b

This is purely selfish by me ... it's the division that I primarily shoot and thus it's the division I prefer. 

Clearly participation is shifting from production to carry optics.

I've heard it said that carry optics are a poor man's open and maybe that's why it appeals to me less. Centuries ago when I started shooting I was an open shooter. I did all the fancy comps and high cap mags and optics ... I played all the caliber games and tried all the platforms... so for me that's all kind of water under the bridge. When Limited division started back then I really liked it because it started to once again begin testing a lot of different components of the shooting. Stage strategy, reloading, gauging risk and reward with shots etc. etc.

To me that's what production is in USPSA shooting today. I shot a match today with some good friends. Two of us shooting production, and two shooting carry optics (one of them normally being a production shooter) and it was a ton of fun. The poking and joking were prevalent ... and fun. I'd frequently get "do you know how many times I'm gonna reload on this stage???" And I'd smirk and say "NONE!" So it was all in good fun. I would say I feel the pressure of reloads at a match pretty exponentially. I know when I plan them well and hit them well that you feel great about "staying competitive" (a relative term I know) with the field whereas you miss a couple and you (or I at least) can feel like ... "ugh ... if I only had the capacity"