Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Akai Vs Cheely Open Guns

Maximis228

I'm looking at upgrading from my open Glock to a full steel gun. Looking for peoples experiences with Akai or Cheely.

I'm looking for a 9mm Major build. I will be shooting both USPSA and 3 Gun. Plan on running major in 3 Gun.

Let me know the pros and cons of your personal experiences with the guns or builders.

I have no experience with Akai so can't speak to that.

But I did get a 9mm Open gun from Cheely a couple months ago and so far it's been 100%. Took a risk and had my kid run the gun the week I got it at Area 2 and not one issue.

Matt was super responsive throughout the process and delivered right near the quoted time.

I've three Akai's and just picked up one of Matt's pistols recently. IMHO the Akai's are better looking cosmetically but the craftsmanship is equal between the two. All four of them shoot like a house afire! You cannot go wrong buying from either, but Matt will get back to you pronto if you have any questions, and that is worth a LOT in my book!

Hello: Check with Shooters Connection to see what guns they have in stock. Thanks, Eric

I bought one of the CKarms open guns from SC a few months back and have been happy with it so far.

Nicely configured, nicely priced and ready to run out of the box plus in stock and no wait. Only change I've made is swapping the offset mount for one that's almost centered & added a gaspedal. No problem with the mount, I just wanted to see how I might like the cmore being centered.

Edited by fmj3

No info on Cheely

Very happy with the Akai pistol I own

Shoots 100%, accurate, smooth , flat , runs and runs and runs

Nicest exterior finish work I've seen, inside is correct also

Like the rest have said, you won't go wrong with either

Not sure how many 3 Gun Matches have major power factor. Most just shoot factory 9mm ammo, sub-minor or minor ammo not major 9mm ammo.