Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Mr. Bullet Feeder - bullets tilted or fallen off case

Dazhi

I have been using MBF for 3 years with no issues.  Starting recently, every 10 rounds or so the bullets would be tilted after it rotates to station #4.  The bullets drop into the case upright, but once the shell plate starts rotating I can see the bullets start to tilt. 

At first, I thought the case opening might be too wide. So I adjusted the expander die (the one comes with the MBF) - have been using the MBF expander die (e.g. powder funnel) since the beginning, to have a smaller opening.  However, the result is even worst.  Almost every other bullet now just falls out of the case when the shell plate rotates.

I watched DAA setup videos a couple times, but they did not talk about how to "insert the bullets harder into the case opening".  I tried lowering the bullet dropper tube (the piece that is secured to the top like a die), thinking maybe over time the whole MBF has been pushed up gradually by repetitive force, but that did not help.  

Any ideas? 

tilt-bullet2.jpg

tilt-bullet1.jpg

Edited by Dazhi

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

WAY too much bell. Try dialing it back a tiny bit at a time.

I have a 550, but use the MBF powder die instead of the Dillon one. The MBF is amazing at making the perfect bell even in 9MM range brass with everything I have thrown at it. Even with what others refer to as garbage brass. Between that and a Lee Factory Crimp Die I have zero feed issues.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Did you use the MBF powder funnel? (see picture below)

Is that a new bullet you're loading? Have you always used a bullet with a lube groove? 

Dillon on the left, MBF on the right.

Image result for mbf powder funnel

Edited by 4n2t0

1 hour ago, iflyskyhigh said:

WAY too much bell. Try dialing it back a tiny bit at a time.