Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My wife has challenged me to get fit....again....

Andy9

Hi All,

I'm not sure that anyone wants to see this specifically, but I need a place to track my journey and hopefully receives a little encouragement along the way.

I started shooting last year and got right into USPSA local match and then found an IDPA match also and am hooked! My fist and only gun so far is a CZ SP01, also got a DAA belt, holster and mag pouches extra mags and the other stuff you need to compete. All nice so far, anyway, I don't have a large budget so i can't just go buy the next gun on a whim, but my wife gave me the green light BUT after I get back into reasonable shape  (ya, there was a "but"). So this reasonable shape is something i need to do anyway but now i have a carrot to chase and that progress is what i will be tracking here.

Starting point just north of 400, ya 4 bills, that's to big, and i need to get to 300, that's the goal. I used to be a real fit guy, 6'4 and 275 and exercising almost daily, but 14 years of a desk job and 4 kids killed that and created my existing "dad bod". it is now time to fix that for health, and for becoming a better shooter. So I am starting the journey now - Shadow 2 is in the sights!!

Shooter make ready, Are you ready........BEEEEEP!!!   

Capture.JPG

So much to work with here:

Baseline

1. Are you healthy enough for a physical training program

2. Watch your diet-do not eat everything on your plate-you can eat less

3. Start walking

Exercise Program

1. Set your fitness goals-write them down (ala Lanny Bassham)

2. Find a program that will coach to achieve your goals.

3. Internet is your friend--HIIT is a big deal;  so many ways to do HIIT

4. Do not ignore mobility work

5. Eat better foods---no more fast food = empty calories

6. Look at all the diets and combine the best parts, KETO is interesting, WW, .....