Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How do you keep from burning out?

I started shooting at the end of last summer - I got my first gun in July and was in my first USPSA match a couple of weeks later. I had more fun than I could have imagined, and have shot competitively ~3 weeks per month since then. In addition I've spent thousands on guns, gear, reloading, etc. and plenty of time reloading or driving to a range.

Nothing has changed, but I realized this morning that I want this to stay fresh and fun for a long time. I don't want to get burned out and end up with a room full of equipment that doesn't get used much.

So, for those of you who got into shooting sports in a similar fashion, how do you keep from getting burned out? I guess the one thing that comes to mind is taking winters off, at least for the most part, or focusing on reloading and gear modification during the off-season and not shooting as much.

I shoot all year, several times a week and to keep fresh, I shoot a different gun or a different division each year. This year I'm using my 9mm 1911 in SS, next year my XD in production, etc. I have four different guns to rotate. Hope that helps!

Been shooting IPSC since 1978, burnt out twice already and took a couple of years off then got back into a new division. I usually don't do anything half way.

One of the ways to keep from burning out, is more than likely going to mean you will do many divisions at different times. And will guarantee you have a room full of equipment you won't use. But hopefully you will be able to cycle back and forth over the years. So it's all good.

One thought though, when you get a set up you do well with, don't sell/trade it off. I still regret letting my Open Rig go, it's the only Division I don't have specific gear for and I had a perfect (for me) set up.

The only problem becomes, which set up to use I like them all!!!