Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Why's Everybody Always Picking On Me?

John Heiter

I started shooting IPSC in 2001 and I did it for a number of reasons. I liked the people at my local club, I enjoyed the competitive nature of the sport, and I've always been into shooting guns, so it made for a great combination.

Around my area, Limited .40 is still the dominant division/caliber at local matches. Most of the local matches are 3-5 stages and require anywhere from 75-150 rounds. Most of of the targets you will see are either Pepper Poppers, US Poppers, Plates, or IPSC Metric targets. Every so often someone will get brave enough to throw in some classic targets but they take a lot of grief for doing it.

My fellow competitors and I show up for matches in shorts and t-shirts (Jackson MS gets 11.7 months of summer) with our velcro inner/outer belts, lots of mag holders, cool looking holsters, and whatever gun we feel like shooting that day. We design and shoot courses of fire that we think will challenge shooter's ability, memory, agility, etc. while still being fun and entertaining. It's not always easy to accomplish the entertaining part because after roughly five years, three matches a month, four stages per match, say some 700+ matches...a lot of the stages start to look alike. That's my IPSC and it's what I know and like but for some reason it seems to be under attack these days.