Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Preferred Shadow 2 Bullet Profile

SJBriggs

I'm new to the world of CZs and just ordered up a Shadow 2 OR. Before I go through the whole load development process, I was wondering if the CZ pistols prefer a certain bullet profile  -- specifically from Blue Bullets (they seem to run faster than any other coated bullets).

Thanks in advance!

I've been shooting a bunch of Blue's 135gr .356 TC's at 1.115" OAL and they've run perfect and have been lasers for me. 

In my experience the Blue RN 147gr was a bitch with my S2 and it didn't like them at all, they have a fat ogive (even though they run fine in a STI 9mm 1911 and Glock G17).

Before I started rolling my own, I ran a bunch of the 150gr Syntech Action Pistol and that stuff was fine, and that's fairly close to Blue's truncated cone shape (the TC's are more rounded so they actually are probably more forgiving feeding-wise). 

Previously I'd only shot mostly 124/147/150gr's, back and forth between the 124's and 147/150's a lot... IMHO the 135's are kinda like the "goldilocks" in that they're still super soft-shooting, but the slide feels faster than with 147/150's at the same power factor of ~130pf.

I get the "special order profile" .356's just because Blue's "normal" are .355, and since every other coated bullet manufacturer uses .356 as "the standard" I do too lol (and I've heard the .356's may lead up the barrel less...) YMMV. I'm sure the .355's are fine too.

Edited by ck1

Most coated lead 147 RNFP bullets seem to come from the same mold and don't seem to run well in any CZ that I've had (seven of them)

The only 147 RNFP I could make run reliably are those made by Rocky Mountain Reloaders.

In my experience, CZs will feed anything round nose as long as the OAL fits in the chamber.  Truncated cone bullets with steep cones and small meplats work very well too.

These will work:

https://thebluebullets.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/1200-125TC-9-2T-1.jpg