Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Calculating PF - Bullets heavier than published

mpmo

So, working up some loads with 147gn RN Blue Bullets, VV N320.  Decided to put them on the scale just to see how consistent they are.  There was not a single one that weighed less than 148, average was closer to 150, with some over 151.

So when I go to test on my chrono, what weight should I actually use?  Haven't attended anything other than Level 1 matches since I started shooting 7 months ago.  But there is a chance I might try to hit up at least 1 level 2 this coming year just for fun.  With chrono stages, how does it work?  Would I say my bullets are 150gn?  Should I try to get to 130PF with a 147 or 150 calculation?  

Shooting for 130PF.  

I'm sure I'm over thinking it.  It might not even be a 0.1gn powder difference right?!

11 minutes ago, mpmo said:

So, working up some loads with 147gn RN Blue Bullets, VV N320.  Decided to put them on the scale just to see how consistent they are.  There was not a single one that weighed less than 148, average was closer to 150, with some over 151.

So when I go to test on my chrono, what weight should I actually use?  Haven't attended anything other than Level 1 matches since I started shooting 7 months ago.  But there is a chance I might try to hit up at least 1 level 2 this coming year just for fun.  With chrono stages, how does it work?  Would I say my bullets are 150gn?  Should I try to get to 130PF with a 147 or 150 calculation?  

Shooting for 130PF.  

I'm sure I'm over thinking it.  It might not even be a 0.1gn powder difference right?!

In a major match with chrono the bullets will be weighed. Whatever the actual weight is will be used to determine PF. FWIW bullet weight should be much closer to listed weight than what you are getting. Generally inside of a grain difference for better bullets.