Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Thinking about going back to my M&P from my Shadow 2

Chris777

I have been shooting my Shadow 2 for about 2 years in USPSA production. Love the gun, its way more accurate than I ever will be, but I am noticing that its heft is making recoil control for me a bit of an issue.  Also feel i am bouncing the gun more if I am shooting on the move a lot more than I do with my M&P 9 FS. Both guns fit me well, but I am thinking of putting the CZ S2 down for a while and going back to my plastic, light weight M&P with Apex FFT.

I know the response will be go to the gym and work on developing a stronger grip, etc, but was wondering if I was the only person that has shot the S2 for a while and just feel they are faster and able to transition to targets better/faster with a plastic/striker fired pistol?

Not trying to start a flame on CZ vs. M&P or plastic guns....

Never shot an M&P. But I did spend some time with Glock 17. I can't imagine going back to a polymer framed gun after shooting a Shadow or Shadow 2.

I just find the recoil management to be so much easier with the steel-framed guns.

I have a match in two weeks.  I will give the M&P a run and see if i shoot better or if I was just looking for a reason for why my suck level has been rising lately :)

Also may play with S2 recoil springs to see if I can get the gun to track better after.  Using an 11 lb spring in there now with 124gr 125ish PF rounds.  My M&P is just snappier with these rounds and the tracks right back on target after firing.  The S2 is close, but does take a bit more grip focus for me to get the slide to cycle and end up back on target.  Most of my second shots with the S2 are 6 o'clock low...   again..need to work on beefing up my girly wrists...