Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Solvent/oil suggestions

nick779

Ive been using Hoppes since I started shooting and im at the point where I want to try something else. The Hoppes just never really seems to stay where I want it even with thin coats.

Ive been looking at Slip 2000, FP-10, and Lucas Extreme as far as oils go, havent looked much at solvents.

What do you guys seem to like the most when it comes to solvents and oils?

Weapon Shield CLP oil and solvent.  Best of the 20 or so I've tried, by a long shot.

Second choice would be either Slip 2000 or their EWL oil.  Slip 2000 does evaporate but it leaves a residue that continues to lubricate.

Edited by zzt

LUcas gun oil is just their 2 cycle oil, repackaged and GROSSLY overpriced.  Hoppes solvent is kerosene with some scent enhancers.
Buy a qt of Mobile 1 oil, or 2cycle oil for lube and  a gallon of mineral spirits or kerosene for cleaner... Call it a day.

For solvents: brake cleaner in a spray can and WD-40 extreme penetrating oil.  No, it's not the original WD-40 in a blue can, this stuff is completely different.

For lubes: I have a collection of real oil (not frog lube crap) samples that I've accumulated over the years: Hoppe's gun oil, Beretta gun oil, the clear oil that came with a Geissele trigger, and a small bottle I filled with some free Mobil DTE-24.  They all work just fine.  For grease I use Lucas extreme pressure grease.

Oils with "gun" in the name are a rip off.  Non-toxic "lubes" are an even bigger joke.

For solvents I use break cleaner and ballistol. For lube I use slide glide. I also agree that gun solevents and lubes are repackaged oils and solevents you can buy by the gallon at the hardware store. 

Edited by Captiontom

Whale oil is the bees knees,, but for some reason is FROWNED UPON !
I use bees wax toilette seals in my cap and ball revolvers, cause it doesnt create tar with blackpowder like anything petrol based does.

4 hours ago, StephenG said: