Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Powder Measure

jaredbeesley

Digital is nice for adjusting charge weight, you see how far off you are and develop a feel for how far to adjust your dropper, I also like to check about 4 drops at once for total error when making initial drop settings. 

Beam is faster for me for checking charge weight after things are set. 

Both also lets you make sure you do not have a scale error, if you have only one then I recommend buying or making (I would make) a known test weight that is about the same weight as a typical charge, a piece of aluminum can will do. 

I have a charge-master and I like it.  It's not perfect; with some powders you'll watch it creep up to the weight and then blow right past it.  Also, the trickle feature is too fast to be very useful.  When I'm loading with those powders I set a target weight ~0.5gr under what I want and use a real trickler to top it off.  It can also be a pain if you switch powders a lot; it's hard to get ALL the old powder out and sooner or later you will forget to close the drain before you dump the new stuff in and it'll end up all over your bench (I've done that twice).  Aside from those issues it really speeds up the loading process without compromising accuracy.  I'd recommend one if you're not switching powder too often.

Digital scales are great and accurate BUT there are things ypu must do because they are finicky.  Make sure its on a level flat, sturdy surface.  It should be away from all air ducts, drafts etc.  Make sure scale set up to zero and back away to let it settle in.  When weighing step back and let scale do its thing.  I've dealt with digital scales commercially, some friends don't even use them near flourscent lighting.  Personally use a Dillon and have no issues, if the above is followed.  I know alittle overboard,  but I like accurate measurements.

Jim 

AutoTrickler.com

get the full meal deal, with the A&D FX120i, AutoTrickler & AutoThrower.