Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Bullets?

AzDanMan

I am getting ready to start reloading in 40 S&W. I am a newbie. Which bullets should I use? I am leaning toward FMJ. All suggestions are appreciated.
FMJ are always the best quality projectile. However, the coated lead stuff has gotten really good in the last few years and many of us have switched. I use ibejiheads myself but blue bullets, gallant, BBI, ACME, SNS, e.t.c all work great. The cost difference allows you to squeeze out more quantity.

I did recently buy an humongous batch of Zero 180gr JHPs and I've been utilizing them for major matches only. I probably won't buy them again unless I come upon a sweet deal again. I really like my ibejiheads with WST. Very little smoke noticed when im shooting.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

I've been using Xtreme plated bullets, but I've used some Rainier too - they all seem to get the job done well enough and are fairly cost effective with a breakdown of something like 9 cents a bullet.

FMJ bullets are always going to be the best quality, so it's really a matter of deciding what you want to spend.  There comes a point with some ammo - 9mm comes to mind - where if you want to buy in bulk, you almost don't see any cost savings by reloading. 

When I first started reloading, I was specifically using hard cast lead bullets because they were the cheapest option, but I got tired of dealing with the smoke the bullet lube produced, never mind the leading in the barrel, although I did make some pretty danged accurate reloads.

At this point I reload because I enjoy it, especially since I upgraded my reloading gear to a Dillon RL-550C.  It's just nice to be able to choose what's in the load, and for my money, I'm perfectly happy with plated bullets.

Az, the best, most consistent bullets you can shoot are almost always JHPs, not FMJs.  They don't lead and are generally more accurate.