Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Asking SO his threshold for cover call

quaker

Hi all! I'm new to shooting IDPA, I noticed in the 2 level 3 sanctioned match that I went to, I got dinged for cover wherein I know I did not (one I got on video and also recorded other shooters after me who did much worse but wasn't dinged). I understand maybe his angle of sight to me and the other shooter might be different to he called mine. My question is it ok for a shooter to ask RO his threshold for a cover call? Would it be right to ask base on SO etiquette norm?

btw, the first time it happened to me, the SO called for cover command but it was almost the same time as I've broke my first shot in the array (then I move back for cover and really unable to see the next target anymore and missed it) I don't wanna be that guy and just wanted to enjoy the rest of the day so I just let it go and charge it to experience.

The second one, did not call cover at all, he just told me after the run and ask me if I understand why I got a procedural and point me to the position area where I got the call.

even though I started as shooting IPSC, I love IDPA ...its just that moving fault line...which is I'm determined to overcome :)

cheers!

Not sure what you mean. Draw a mental straight line from the center of the target to the edge of the prop and continue it. That is the cover line.

If any part of your foot, knee, or hip is outside that line and you fire a shot, your reward is 3 seconds. Some SOs will give you a toe, or a foot over the line, but don't get used to it, cause others will call it correctly.

I've shot this game for 15 years. Here are is what I've seen:

1. There are actually a few good, experienced SOs that go straight by the rulebook.

2. Usually it depends on what the SO thinks of you. If you aren't a threat to beat him, that helps too.

3.if you are usually in his buddy squad you're safe from most PE's.