Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What is the difference between 223 & 556

tires2burn

agreed. I was a total newb to AR's and was told to buy one chambered in 5.56 as opposed to 223. That way any ammo I buy would be good to go. I think there are some slight differences elsewhere but pretty much as PB said. 5.56 is hotter.

.556 is a bit looser on the headspace to facilitate feeding. 223 chamber has a tighter tolerance on the headspace. If you shoot 556 in a 223, you can have pressure issues . It supposedly makes a 223 a bit more accurate with factory ammo. You can set headspace, if you reload, to match your gun. There are a number of threads on this subject on the A/R-15 forum. Or so I heard. I never go to any other forums. :devil:

Load away. Same dies. Shoot em' up. My colts are .556. I load with .223 dies. I use LC brass with 24 gr H-4895 and 69 gr siera BTHP and 2.25 OAL. Shoots 2900 fps and a 1.5-2 inch group at 100 yds with iron sights. YMMV.

Edited by Youngeyes

There are differences. First, the 5.56 is a military round, generally with a velocity in excess of 3100 fps. It has a higher pressure than a .223. The .223 was originally designed for bolt guns. You can shoot heavier bullets in .223 bolt gun that are longer and generally will not fit in a magazine gun magazine. Where the bullet meets the lands are usually different between the calibers. Military brass is usually thicker to handle the pressures, the primers are different and the primer pocket usually needs swaging.

There is also a Wylde chamber which is a compromise between the 5.56 and .223.

There is a lot more information available on the internet, the above is just the high points.

As others have said, it's primarily pressures that the ammunition is loaded to and the amount of freebore in the chamber.

SAAMI had the drawings and chamber specs on their website. Freely available to download here: http://saami.org/specifications_and_information/index.cfm