Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shoes for competition

Well, I was running around last weekend's match in my desert boots (I live in the desert:P), when I overheard someone say that so-and-so was serious and was wearing baseball cleats.  When I got home, my toes were not feeling the best due to the stops and I was thinking of trying some different footwear.  Any input on what shoes to wear for a match?

I traded in my Salomon Speedcross 3's for a pair of these. I've been using them for the past year, or so.

They felt kind of funny, at first, but I'm used to them now.

Professional-Clown-Shoes-Costume-Supplies-Halloween-New.jpg

Edited by MikieM
32 minutes ago, v1911 said:

Solomon are definitely not for the wide of feet. I can handle them for local matches, but anything more and I have to resort to an old pair of Reebok’s that are Uber comfortable. 

Solomon has wide sizes now.

Hello: I have been using Salomons for about 8 years now. They are a great shoe if they fit your foot. As for keeping the sand out they do a very good job of that. If you need more warmth and water protection get the ones that have Clima Shield. If you need even more protection from dirt, bugs etc. you could get a set of short gaiters like the hikers use. If the Salomons don't fit your foot get a pair of trail running shoes that make your feet feel good when walking in the store. Soccer, baseball and football shoes may not feel good on your feet when you have been standing on them for 6 hours and walking around 7 miles if you paste targets like you should. Thanks, Eric

7 hours ago, brytec said:

Innov8... mudclaw 

They hold up much better than solomon’s too.

I wear a similar trail shoe sometimes, if it’s really dry.

Typically I wear a full-blown cleat with an all rubber sole. Avoid the hard plastic or metal spikes,and cleats work better in gravel than solomon’s by a wide margin. They won’t break your neck on wet wood surfaces, either.

I use a UA cleat similar to these: