Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Why heavier 9mm rounds like 147 gr feel softer shooting than 115 gr?

Tango

When I was a beginner and shooting only factory ammo, I was told to stay away from lighter bullet weights like 115gr, and use 147gr because heavier rounds would recoil lighter. My experience confirmed this: 147gr rounds felt better and easier to control. Physics, however, tells us that recoil is momentum, and a heavier bullet at the same speed would generate larger recoil. So I compared momentum of a typical factory ammo like Speer lawman, at 115 and 147 grains. Based on factory specs, the momentum of the 147gr is actually larger than the 115gr, but by only about 5%. I do not think anybody can notice this difference in their hand, but even if they do, the heavier bullet should recoil more. This is contrary to what people feel. What I believe happens is that because the 115 grain bullet is actually supersonic, it creates blast that makes it feel more "snappy" vs. 147 grain is subsonic and doesnt create the same shock wave and the perceived snappiness. 

There were a few times when I thought it would be advantageous to switch from 124 to 147 gr Bullets. Then I figured the 147s would be too heavy for the PCC. Then I thought maybe the 115’s would be best in the PCC, and good enough in the pistols. At the time I was shooting Berry’s copper washed Bullets and if I went with 115s, then I’d be driving them close to Berry’s max recommended velocity for their Bullets. In the end I stuck with the 124/125 gr Bullets as the perfect compromise for just about all situations. 

Power factor is a momentum value.

Definitely, if you are shooting the bullets at the same velocity, the heavier will recoil more.  However, you are normally shooting the bullets at the same power factor so that the recoil is the same.