Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

WSSSC- setup crew shooting stages weekend before.

Climbhard

Tell me I shouldn’t be pissed.   WSSSC is next weekend and videos are going on Facebook of competitors shooting the stages this weekend as part of a “club match”.  Oh they say not the same. Much tweeting to be done.  BS. The timing on the swingers is the same, walls and positions are the same.  Targets are for the most part the same.  Ok. Maybe the take one target out here and love this other one a little left or right.  It’s still the same stage.  So much for “level playing field”.  Tell me I shouldn’t be pissed.  

I'm brand new to USPSA and I would generally expect that match stages get tested before they're run in a major. And since stages are released before the match, I expect that a fair number of clubs may mimic those stages in their club match leading into the major.

I mean...maybe that's not the case, but that's what I would expect to happen.

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

Changing one target on a stage makes it a different stage. They'll change more than just a target here or there. The stages need to be checked. A lot. Even running a set up and staff match day sometimes isn't enough to get the bugs worked out.

That said.......who cares? It's a kick ass, fun match every year. No huge prize table and nobody gaming their class to win a bottle of lube or a hard case roller bag. If ya ain't one of about 3 people shooting the match that has a chance to take home a plaque, go have fun. I know i will.

Oh and don't be pissed :)

Al

The idea of a run through is to find the issues and correct them before the match is for real.  Guaranteed that they will find issues and any single run on the previous COF, even if it's not changed, is of doubtful advantage.  How many times do you get a re-shoot run that's better than the original?

It's not like Steel Challenge where you are committing the COF to muscle memory.