Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Plated bullets for open major pf?

vgdvc

Hello open shooters. First I'd like to thank everyone who has contributed to my newbie questions regarding open division. That being said here's another one. Has anyone had experience positive or negative with using plated bullets in .38 Super open major? I'm just beginning to formulate loads for my Brazos open pistol. Until my powder order arrives the only suitable thing I have in the arsenal is CFE pistol. I purchased some RMR 124 grain .355 plated and was following data I found, 7.2gr@ 1.238oal. It should be pushing them just under 1400 FPS . In a very brief range session I seemd to have some erratic flyers that messed up what would have been an otherwise respectable group. Again I'm getting used to the pistol but shooting offhand at 20 yards I would put three or four in a 2-2.5"  group and then have one or two about 5" away. I worked up some loads with  115 grain HP jacketed and was able to produce consistent 5 shots inside  2" grouping with no erratic shots. I did not notice any odd marks on the cardboard or flower pedaling that might indicate the plating was peeling away. Again this was a very brief range session since my time has been limited to get going with this but any input or experience with plated or recommendations would be appreciated , thank you.

• Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images