Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How Hard Should Club Level Matches Be?

mjl

I have been doing our monthly club matches for about 3 years now. We now have 6 stages, which includes one classifier. Sometimes I will adopt stages from upcoming nearby Area/State matches as practice. I don't see the stages we do as being too hard, as typically there are not many tight shots, nor are there many long shots. If one was to go slow enough, even a relatively new shooter, they could get their points.

We do run a plate rack every month and about 20-30 poppers, maybe one or two swingers, and maybe a clamshell; I use the Texas Star less than once a quarter.

Does anyone worry about losing new shooters to the sport due to stage design? I'm thinking when a new shooters sees some of our top shooters (GMs to As) blazing through a stage, they get discouraged because they can not go that fast (there are a lot of golf analogies out there), but that is going to be true regardless of the stage design.