Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Why coated bullets

nighttrain

Why coated bullets ? I've been reloading for many years and never seen them. Just recently started shooting uspsa , as I was helping to clean up after the other shooters I noticed a couple guys using coated bullets . Doing a lil research I found the coated to be a lil cheaper ?

What other benefits are there of using coated bullets ?

In a recent chrono test I loaded xtreme plated , bbi coated , and blue bullets.  All loaded to same length, same charge. Xtreme were an average of 40 fps slower than the bbi, which were slower than the blues at 35 fps .  Coated bullets are generally faster, just as accurate, just as clean, and lots cheaper.   

Coated bullets have their problems.  Many of them are coated with the Australian HiTek coating that really smells when you fire them.  Others have a coating that is easily cut when crimping, leading to leading.  None can be used continually with a compensator unless you enjoy cleaning crap out of the comp.  Many of them are coated hard cast bullets that are already .001" oversized.  So now they don't work well in auto bullet feeders.

My home club does not allow plated or jacketed on steel.  So I use Precision poly coated bullets.  They are accurate, don't lead, don't rub off on your hands, and are reasonably priced.  Unfortunately, I can't use them in any of my compensated guns.  I'm not going to name other names, but the Precisions work much better than the other seven brands I tried.  They are more consistent in weight, and more accurate.

If I had my druthers, I'd shoot good plated (Rainier) or JHPs for everything.