Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Original Chip McCormick Hi-Cap

outerlimits

Wow... Brings back a lot of memories. I seem to recall the Para P13 (14)? was first though. I haven't seen one of those McCormick frames in a lot of years. I bet they're still out there tearing up cardboard somewhere.

i know mine is still running strong. s/n is 022. says tripp research under the dust cover. bought 2 of them at the time...

I remember those ads! I think the first one I saw in person was in 1992 and I was a starving college student getting ready to go on active duty...no way I had that kind of cash to blow on a frame. That was actually part of why I basically stopped competing in 1993....couldn't afford to build a high cap like that at the time and when everyone had twice as many rounds it took away a lot of the fun. I was pretty good at reloads back then though!

Wow, hadn't seen one of those in a while. I remember I had one built by Les Baer back in late 91 or early 92 and shot the 92 Nationals with it. The medallions fell out after awhile. Sad part was, we moved to Japan soon after I got it (right after the 92 Nationals), and between 4 years in Japan, then 4 years staying busy with college, I barely shot it before it became outdated and I sold it around 2001.

Edited by mpolans

I worked for tripp at sti in earley 93 building guns. the reason they were so pricey was chip got $200.00 a frame for his name. He never had anything to do with designing the product. Tripp got rid of chip about 93 & priceing came down.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 9 months later...