Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

#1 Lesson Learned

PaulW

Thought this might be cool to talk about. In your experience thus far, what has been your #1 lesson learned?

I'll go first. I've been shooting IPSC since 1997 and have loved shooting way before that. I started off shooting IPSC and was pretty clueless as to what it took to shoot a pistol fast and accurate. I worked, studied, and asked a billion questions to help improve my shooting. Once I started moving up in class I started to really feel the pressure that I had to live up to eveyone elses expectations. Before I shoot a stage someone would ask me, "so how fast are you going to shoot this"? Usually I would tell them I had no idea. Then there would be a wager going on as to how fast I would shoot it. Then, trying to push myself beyond my capabilities I would crash and burn. Now what do I do? I really, really try and be true to myself. I shoot to my expectations, which are very high, and no one elses. I shoot the best I can right then and there. takes a huge amount of pressure off. Makes shooting a whole lot more fun as well. I am hard enough on myself and try to be a perfectionist and don't need that added pressure.

• Replies 92
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Mine is similar to yours.

My best lesson is to shoot MY game, and not worry or even think about placement or final scores or winning.

Before I shot at the Summer Blast I consciously avoided the preliminary stage results, as I didn't want to be thinking, "you can win the stage if you shoot it XXX seconds, X points down.

This strategy worked well for me for the first half of the day. So well in fact, that I began to think about results a little, thinking I might be in the hunt for M class placement at my first M class major match.

I made three mistakes on my last 4 stages...reinforcing my lesson.

Ahhh, the journey. :)

SA

This one is easy for me...

The #1 lesson I learned was to call each and every shot.