Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How Long Did It Take?

JimmyZip

I've been around guns and shooting all my life, but I just joined USPSA this year. I was wondering how long it has taken you guys to get to your current rating. Also how often you shoot, dryfire, and the time you spend reloading. Am I in a hurry? Not really, just curious what kind of time investment you are making to get somewhere in this sport.

I do like the people, and I enjoy myself, but I like to compete also. JimmyZip

It takes people all different times took me abotu 5 years from initial start to make GM but fhe first couple weren't real serious about 2 years once i started practicing. as for how much. practice... not much in the winter couple hundred rounds per week getting ready for matches...... Reloading... not much. but enough to justify in my opinion a dillon 1050 I have shot more than what i do currently, and probabally will this year.

I've been around guns and shooting all my life, but I just joined USPSA this year. I was wondering how long it has taken you guys to get to your current rating. Also how often you shoot, dryfire, and the time you spend reloading. Am I in a hurry? Not really, just curious what kind of time investment you are making to get somewhere in this sport.

I do like the people, and I enjoy myself, but I like to compete also. JimmyZip

You should get a lot of varied responses from this question so I guess I'll be the first. I too have been shooting and around guns all my life and somehow??? never knew what IPSC or USPSA was until 2 years ago. I saw a video of our local club shooting on a local TV channel and thought wow, that looks like fun and "pfff", I can do that :rolleyes: