Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Which AR?

TRK

I have been shooting USPSA for about 6 months now after about a 15 year lay off. Looking to get into 3Gun. I have an applicable shotgun but lack an AR.

What is a good platform to start with, with an eye towards upgrading later? DPMS, Bushmaster, S&W or any of the otjer manufacturers out there?

I have been shooting USPSA for about 6 months now after about a 15 year lay off. Looking to get into 3Gun. I have an applicable shotgun but lack an AR.

What is a good platform to start with, with an eye towards upgrading later? DPMS, Bushmaster, S&W or any of the otjer manufacturers out there?

Stag Arms

The upper is more important than the lower. Except the lower needs a new trigger, or good trigger work, whichever one you buy..

I think all the lowers are too similar to call.

But.. there's a few that support ther 3 Gun matches: DPMS is where I'd start.

Most of the forged lower receivers offered by a variety of different companies would make an adequate starting platform.

IMHO, premium quality barrels are worth the added cost but many other shooters' opinions may differ.

The JP CTR-02 upper is my choice for the BEST AR style rifle as my shooting ability has increased tremendously with my new CTR-02.

I use a Rock River lower that I sent to JP to have their trigger installed.

We have compared a variety of different AR-15 barrels with handloads and have found none to equal or surpass the JP in performance.

-CONSISTANT accuracy at extreme long range- :)

Edited to fix...I can't believe I spelled adequate wrong...

Edited by LadyinBlue

You'll probably get a lot of input on this. Everybody has their favorites (Ford vs. Chevy vs. Dodge). I'm currently shooting a JP-15 from JP Enterprises with an 18" VTAC Upper. One awesome resource is Benny Hill at Triangle Shooting Sports (see the Vendor Forum for contact info).

You also might want to move your thread to the "3Gun Rifle Technical Discussion" heading.

Good Luck. :)