Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Other Shooting Sports

38superman

Before I started shooting in USPSA three years ago, I was an avid rifleman.

I did a little hunting but was never real big into it.

My thing was punching paper and seeing how much accuracy I could wring out of a production rifle.

I did this with a little tweaking and exhaustive load development.

Now all my free time (and disposable income) is directed toward USPSA shooting.

I have dedicated my efforts toward helping my local club, shooting the matches, building guns for different divisions, etc.

Today I took note of the fact that working my way up the IPSC food chain has caused me to set aside all else.

I haven't launched one round downrange with a rifle since my first club match in April '04.

The rifles that once saw so much use are now safe queens.

I won't say this is good, bad, or indifferent. It is simply an observation.

I love action pistol shooting and have no regrets.

I simply wonder if others have experienced this phenomenon.

If you pursue other shooting sports, how does one find balance?

For me, I would need three lifetimes to do all the things I enjoy and do them well.

Tony

Edited by tlshores

Yes it has. Several years ago I was a dedicated SASS Cowboy Action Shooter, in fact I was shooting at very high level. Now like others my disposable time and money goes to shooting USPSA. Though life lately has done its best to take as much of my time as possible away from my shooting.

I still shoot sporting clays once or twice a month since I only have 2 USPSA matches a month within 2 hours drive. I should probably practice my pistol shooting more, but other games are fun as well.

Lately I have been shooting everything but Ipsc.

Still shoot long range rifle but now losing my spot causes me to have to drive 3 1/2 hours one way to get 1000 yards, So that has slowed due to time and fuel costs. Used to have 3000 plus in a sand quarry like 30 Min's from the house.