Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Alternative Dies for Dillon XL750 due to Backorder Carbide Dillon Dies

I'm new to reloading.  I found a good priced used Dillon XL750.  I've been getting it cleaned up and ready to start pressing brass.  It came with lots of components but unfortunately no dies.  In looking at the Dillon site, Dillon carbide 9mm and 223 dies are backordered from 35 to 42+ weeks.  I've heard Lyman might be a good option or perhaps Lee.  I could use some advice on a direction.

I would also suggest using the EGW U die for resizing, along with a Lee Factory Crimp die.  For seating, it really comes down to if you want the ability to fine tune the seating depth with a micrometer knob or not.  Hornady and RCBS both make good options, I'm not a fan of Redding at all.

Adam

I liked the EGW die except feeding brass to it wasn’t as smooth as a Dillon die resulting in the occasional damaged case.  I do think accuracy might be slightly better when using mixed or many times fired brass.  An EGW or Lee die in the press beats one on backorder every time. 

Edited by 21 shooter
Grammar

13 hours ago, AshtonKS said:

Dillon carbide 9mm and 223 dies are backordered from 35 to 42+ weeks.

Lot's of alternatives for these.

Lee priced right and available.

Best quality are Redding. Good selection and price from these people: https://accuratearmsandammo.com

RCBS available.

Reload Unlimited well stocked: https://reloadingunlimited.com/product-category/reloading-presses-dies/reloading-dies/?instock_products=in

Used dies on EBay.

Basically, Dillon has been running behind demand for a while.

If price is not an issue, right now I would buy the Redding NxGen Carbide Sizing Die 9MM Luger.

For 223 the RCBS small base sizing die.

I tried Redding .40 S&W dies and while I really like their seating and crimping dies I did not enjoy the sizer die on my 650.