Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Which Press to Buy? Upgrading from the Dillon 550B

I will be upgrading from a Dillon 550B to another press - thinking the Dillon 750, 1100, or Mark 7 Apex 10. I have been shooting two pistol calibers competitively for ten years and will continue into retirement 25 years down the road. I've had some concerns about my 550 and have spent about $200 upgrading, replacing, and repairing parts. If I upgrade to another press can I mitigate these concerns/issues:

• Variations in the bullet seating depth from 0.001" to 0.008", bullets and brass are of high quality (Zero/Hornady and Starline)
  • Powder flakes spill from powder measure funnel
  • Primer cup constantly snags on the shell plate about every 100 rounds and needs to be re-adjusted
  • When using 45 ACP range brass, I have to really pull down hard to size. High quality brass size like butter. If I upgrade, does the machine do more work here?
  • Precision is an utmost concern, I shoot competitively
  • 9mm spent-primers constantly shoot out from the press
  • Concerns of double powder charge
  • Might want to reload for 30-06 one day

I want to spend more time dry firing and less time reloading. I've also watched just about every 750 & 1100 video out there. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. 

Edited by Orion1

Presses like the Dillon 1100 are meant for high volumes of a single caliber. They can be converted… but the cost and process is much more significant than something like the 750. No experience with the Apex..  but I’d presume it to be similar. 

With that said… I have the RL1100 and I love it. Best press I’ve ever used. 

You have many years of shooting ahead of you. 
I ran SD, 550, LnL and finally went with a 1050. I too am a competitive shooter. I shoot 9, 40, 45 and 223. 
80% 9mm

Just because a press is designed for a certain volume doesn’t mean your volume must be in that range. 
In my experience the consistency is better with my 1050. 
I am old :)