Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Percent of practice time with one hand shooting

AxisT23

I'm still a beginner but what percent of time should I spend with strong hand only shooting and offhand only shooting?

I know I've heard the response practice what you are weak at but thats everything as a beginner.

thank you for any guidance.

Edited by AxisT23

Zero. At your level, it's a gimmick and not worth optimizing. It's the same advice I would give a person asking about how to shoot a Texas Star.

Pay enough attention, aim small, and treat it as a no miss situation. No point in buying a Texas Star just to practice it.

In general, your SHO can go faster than you think. Your WHO is more accurate than you think, but the accuracy fall off is immense when pushing the speed.

I’m newish myself. Shot matches a long time ago so this is all kind of new again. In the year-ish that I shot, I had exactly two stages that involved SHO/WHO shooting. Both weren’t even in USPSA matches but a local fun match. With that being said, I practice about 5-10 minutes near the 2/3rd mark of my dry fire a few times a week. Gives me a little break from whatever I’m training. Then go back to my drill and try to finish off on a good note. Live fire, maybe a mag each hand and not every live fire session. I don’t stress it much but try to stay fair in it. 

You need to practice one hand shooting enough to keep from "cratering" a stage.    As a newbie, being able to transfer the gun safely to your weak hand and being able to shoot all As weak hand, with no time limit at 10yds, and 15 yards strong hand, with no time limit, is just fine.

Your division is also a factor.    If you are shooting open or carry optics, you should probable do more one hand dry fire until you can reliably see your dot come on target, without having to look for it.   

Personally, I was terrible at weak hand.    I put a little time into it and now I look forward to it.

1 hour ago, Smitty79 said: