Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Optimal IPSC power factor for production division

MupaY

Hello,

I will start my new season of IPSC. I am a newbie on reloading. I shot in minor production.

I would like some informations on reloading. My goal is to be a minimum factor not more. Because like this, there will be less recoil, best gun control, faster return to target, so less time which is important for ipsc. (my wife shoot with me, and less recoil is better for her too)

Im scared to load my cartridges for 125 PF.
1) because if there is a difference between my chrono record and the one on the competition, I may not pass and not being classed.
2) I was told that according to weather conditions, atmospheric pressure from one place to another, that can change the power factor? is it true ? how many this can change the power factor?

In the end, I'd really like to know the smallest value of factor that I can take, without taking the risk of not passing the chrono on a competition.

Finally, last question, the power factor influences really much the accuracy ? The research for the reduced recoil with light load will not going to influence so much on accuracy ? I heard that for the 9mm 124gr best power factor was 133, someone would already heard that and have some sources to prove it?

sorry for my bad english, I try to do my best.

Thank you for your reply.

PS if needed : i shoot with cz75 sp01 shadow.

bullet : 124gr LOS

powder : n320

primer : sellier & bellot

brass : wincester / magtech

If you go with a 135 power factor, and N320, you will have no troubles with temperatures or atmospheric pressures. If I were you, I would try to find heavier bullets (147 grain). This will feel like a lighter recoil than the 124's and it will take less powder to make the desired power factor. FWIW, I load 147 lead FP at 1.150 with 3.5 grains of N320 and get a PF of 135 in my Shadow.