Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Single stack maj or min?

kevinm

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

8 rounds-per-mag (Wilson ETMs) of .45 ACP, major (factory) loads.

.40 and 9mm are working out very well for some of our club's other SS guys. I'm not married to .45 but I'll stick with it for a while, at least until after I've been reloading for a few months.

Edited by GunBugBit

I really like shooting 9mm 1911. You have to improve your ratio of As to everything else - period. Shooting minor pushes you towards accuracy, but you still must maintain your speed. So its a balance game. You just cant accept a large number of Cs or take all day to shoot a stage.

When I first started,I was running around 128-29 PF and the gun sort of loped along. I have since pushed the PF to 135 with 124 jacketed. You want to keep the slide moving and recoiling the same and quickly. Loping along is fun and lazy, but it is not fast. With 10 round mags you can pretty much follow a production mindset on stage breakdown. Some matches the 10/8 difference is no biggie, others 8 round major is going to eat you.

Two SA 1911 NM and a STI Trogan.

Dawson 10 round mags and SA 9 round mags with Dawson base plates.

Guns run perfect.

I've got a trojan 45 and USPSA in 9. Going to pick up another 9mm as a backup.

I've shot a bunch of both major and minor this year. It's hard to tell a difference score-wise. Some stages I get a little better breakdown, but sometimes a few extra points (or more speed for the same points on partials) would be nice. Shooting against the same people, i have had good days and bad days with both guns, but minor at least lets me compare strategies and scores with the production guys.