Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Is 38 sc that much better than 9 major

joedirt

This is a honest question. Would a person at any given skill level shoot better with sc over 9 maj? I have been shooting open for about two years and have improved when I practice. I have two young kids so I can't put as much time into it as it would take to get as good as I would like to be. Although I have shot a sc, it's been a long time and I didn't think that it shot any better than my 9major open gun. I'm thinking of going to limited just to remove that one, unknown. To me it's not worth the extra cost but, I would like other opinions. I you are die hard in one direction or the other, that won't help. I want to hear from sc guys who were surprised at how 9major guns shot, or 9 major guys who say, wow, I never knew sc was so much better... send it Ps,, I don't wanna hear about how this subject was beaten to death ten years ago... new shooters, techniques and opinions have come about in the past ten years..

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I think the window for reloading is much, much wider with 38sc. But it is not worth the cost. I would almost build an open glock in .40 now, but I want to stay in production for a few years. I have a ton of limited ammo loaded from years ago. So I think cost and availability are major factors for the average person at this point. I have an open 38 super and a 9 major, and for me, it really comes down to what you have to feed it with and how much that food costs.