Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Both Eyes OPEN?

DirkD

Good day to all

I'm new to the sport of practical shooting and I had a blast the past couple of months I was practicing

I'm really curious on how most of as acquire a target?

I myself used to close one eye and open only the dominant eye.

But when I asked a class A shooter he told me he opens both eyes when shooting paper or steel

I tried it on ipsc classic targets and it made a huge difference, I mean I can see where the bullets are punching a hole

but when i tried it on a steel plates I have a hard time acquiring the target,

that's why both eyes are open on paper targets and only the dominant eye on steel plates.

Im just curious how do you guys do it?

any reply and tips would really be a big help

BTW i use a Para Ord Hi cap .40 with fiber optic front sight and a Dawson adjustable rear

Edited by DirkDiggler

• Replies 103
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I started opening both eyes pretty soon after starting in USPSA, for me it just came natural.

It seems to allow me to aquire targets faster, and make shots without thought of trying to close my weak eye.

Edited by revomodel10

I still do the one eye thing. I have several moments in a match when I realize that I have both open and that I can see a whole lot more, but it is usually at the expense of a sight picture. I have done extensive dryfire and practice with both open and as soon as that buzzer goes off in a match, there goes ole lefty, straight back to sleep.

Do what is natural for you. Both open s better, but not necessary.

I still do the one eye thing. I have several moments in a match when I realize that I have both open and that I can see a whole lot more, but it is usually at the expense of a sight picture. I have done extensive dryfire and practice with both open and as soon as that buzzer goes off in a match, there goes ole lefty, straight back to sleep.