Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Wolf Primers

Mrdwayne0405

I found a deal on a bunch of Wolf Small Pistol Primers. I am not a fan of the bullets, but I know nothing about these primers. Should I consider buying them for reloading 40 S&W? I'm new to reloading, as in I'm loading my first rounds when my bullets come in. I already have my cases primed for my first loads, this is just for future use...

I bought some when they were the only thing available a year or 2 ago. They have been completely unreliable. I was getting failure to fires on the rate of 1-2 per stage. Nice solid strikes. No bang. Extended firing pin etc. didn't help.

I found a deal on a bunch of Wolf Small Pistol Primers. Should I consider buying them for reloading 40 S&W?

A year ago, we had a giant thread on Wolf -

bottom line is that they work in some guns

and not in others:(

They are close to 100% in my STI, but about 60%

in my BHP.

I bought a million of them (price:) and use

them for practice rounds, not match rounds.

Jack

I don't have any problems with them as long as they are seated REALLY well. I have a failure to fire rate of about 1 in 20 with them in my lightly sprung Glock's since I started loading on a Hornady LNL. When I used to use a Lee turret which I think seated them much better, I had almost zero problems.

With stock Glocks they're fine. My personal experience... I have had I think, two true duds in about 7000 of them.

I shoot them in my 9mm single stacks (17lb hammer spring) and .40 Eagle loaded on the LNL with no problems. I have m2i extended firing pins in them though. I have a few thousand left and use them for practice.

I bought 10K back when I couldn't get my normal primers. I might buy them again for practice if I could get them cheap enough.