Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New Gun or Reload Press?

Lanzo

I'm new to USPSA and soon to be new to IDPA as of this saturday. Currently I am shooting my Glock 21SF in Limited 10. I have three matches under my belt, not much, but I've won one trophy for best Unclassified in Lim 10 (second match). I've always loved guns, but discovering this sport has been one of the greatest treats of my life so far. The people are truly amazing and I feel I've met many that I can call friends and mean it. Great, great people for sure. Unfortunately I'll have to take a complete break from shooting for up to 6 months very soon, but when I get back I have the chance to get either a new gun or a reload press as a gift.

My question is which would you choose? The Gun will be the more expensive item for sure (some kind of STI from Bravo Customs maybe. I like the Brazo SC series Po SC Limited) but should I just stick with my Glock and get a Dillon XL 650. If I got either item I could just buy the other. If I went that route getting the gun and buying the press would be my best bet I think. I'm still not sure on the gun either though. I know I want to stay in the Limited or L-10 class and I think I would be much faster with a single action ST/SVI platform. I just don't know enough about SVI's to "build" one. There GunBuilder just plain overwhelms the hell out of me.

What would you guys do?

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Lanzo,

I am also new to USPSA (just received my membership card in today's mail). Fortunately, I was reloading before I started in USPSA, using a Hornady lock-N-load progressive press. I really want to buy a S&W M&P, but chose instead to put my money into a casefeeder for the lock-n-load. While I still want the M&P, I am glad I chose to spend the money on reloading equipment. I recommend you buy the press first, that way you will be able to feed whatever new guns you buy in the future.