Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Headstamp Experts? FC NT

Mark K

Total newbie. Reloading 9mm tonight, and 5 cases not want to seat primers, no matter what. 4 brass, 1 nickle. The head stamp has the normal 9mm Lugar, and then FC NT.

It looks as though the primer pockets are a tad small, but my current electronic micrometer only measure to two decimals (new on in the mail to me).

Not big deal, just trying to learn.

Mark K.

Federal Cartridge Non Toxic

Do a search

Thanks for the help. Yeah, I am new to reloading and pistol shooting, but 20+ years of competitive rifle shooting with the Army. I knew the FC was Federal Cartridge, but could not find the NT through various searchs.

I did not see obvious primer crimp marks, but......

thanks again.

Mark

Not smaller, just crimped.

BE CAREFUL WITH THE FEDERAL NT'S!!! Being crimped (or shimed) they will not deprime & prime properly on a Dillion 650. While attempting to seat a primer, the primer smashed & ignited. No damage to the 650 but it scared the hell out of me.

Not smaller, just crimped.

BE CAREFUL WITH THE FEDERAL NT'S!!! Being crimped (or shimed) they will not deprime & prime properly on a Dillion 650. While attempting to seat a primer, the primer smashed & ignited. No damage to the 650 but it scared the hell out of me.

I have loaded countless numbers of Winchester, Federal, and Speer NT all on a 650....as I said above, I have had an occasional problem which has always been very easy to detect from the feeling of the machine. I can't imagine not feeling the level of smashing involved to get a primer to ignite. YMMV

Total newbie. Reloading 9mm tonight, and 5 cases not want to seat primers, no matter what. 4 brass, 1 nickle. The head stamp has the normal 9mm Lugar, and then FC NT.

It looks as though the primer pockets are a tad small, but my current electronic micrometer only measure to two decimals (new on in the mail to me).

Not big deal, just trying to learn.

Mark K.