Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Possibility Of Modification Tightening In Uspsa Production

Nik Habicht

Having talked with several Area Directors recently, the topic of the Production Division Rules came up. Apparently the Board is talking about the divisional criteria, and possibly will be moving to change some of those criteria ---- with the division perhaps moving closer to stock, as delivered from the manufacturer, and away from custom shop and after market modifications.

I have no knowledge of specific items on the chopping block, or even up for discussion, but I'm curious as to what the Enosverse thinks. It would be helpful, if you'd tell us whether you shoot production or not, and if you'd be more or less inclined to do so, if the rules are tightened.

I'll start:

I think that there are core things that make Production (terrible name by the way) different from the other divisions:

• DA/DAO/Safe Action only. Basically a no 1911 or other Single-action division.

• Iron sights

• Ten round limit

• No mag well

• Minor scoring

• Approved gun list --- so manufacturer’s can’t build a limited # of game guns that aren't available to anyone, and are even discouraged from building $2000 (essentially Limited) guns for the division.

I think intentionally stifling innovation runs contrary to IPSC principles --- the test has historically been “What works best?,” and has now been amended to “What works best, given a few criteria?” (I.E. Limited tests what’s best given the restrictions of No optics, ports, or comps, .40 minimum for major; L-10 further refines it with a capacity Limit, Revolver tests what works in a six round cylindrical thing.) Why make production a whole different ball game?