Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My open letter to ICORE Match Directors

First, let me say "Thank You" for putting matches together. If it weren't for you guys, I would just go to the range and waste ammo.

I'm new to ICORE (about two years) but I started shooting USPSA in the mid 80's, and NSCA (sporting clays shotguns) for the last 15 or so years. I'm always in C or B class, but my entry fees are the same as the "big dogs". 

I've grew up shooting in the Phoenix metro area, so I'm spoiled because of Cactus Match, Rio Salado, and Phoenix Rod and Gun Club. I even shot The Ernie Hill a few times, and the NSCA US Open.

That being said, I notice ICORE matches (outside the Phoenix area) tend to start later, end later, and are loaded with classifiers, and steel stages.  I also notice the attendance is down from USPSA and NSCA.

I can't speak to that, but for me, a new shooter with a little free time (I'm 63 and retired) I'd like to see the matches start at 8:00, one classifier, the rest field stages, smaller squads, and end at 1:00pm.

You know, just like they do in Phoenix.

Oh, and thanks to the CRO's and RO's too.

I'll be at the ICORE matches regardless, but I'll quit bitching on the internet if you make my changes :)

3 hours ago, ChuckS said:

Are you offering to show up at zero dark thirty to set up the match by headlamp? That's what it takes for an early start if the match can't set up the day before like Rio Salado.

He is retired so he should have plenty of time 🙂

4 hours ago, ChuckS said:

Are you offering to show up at zero dark thirty to set up the match by headlamp? That's what it takes for an early start if the match can't set up the day before like Rio Salado.

And he would be an EXCELLENT choice as MD!

Then the match can start whenever the MD says so!