Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New to 3 Gun... a little guidance

So as the title states I’m completely new to the sport but my son has shown an extreme interest in it.  Just wanted to reach out to some with a little more knowledge on the best things to prioritize as we began the process.  We have talked to others locally and done some online research but figured I’d ask on here for any of you that have gone down this path with their own kids what kind of advice you could pass on.    My budget is smaller than most so as we progress I want to make sure I’m buying needs and not wants, lol. Anyways I know this is a vague post and question but appreciate any replies 

Just use whatever you have before you go buying a ton of stuff you might not like later. Go shoot some 3 gun matches and talk to other shooters. Most will let you use their equipment to see if you like it. 

My biggest pet peeve with 3 gun shooters is they hate the shotgun. Don't hate the shotgun and if you run onto another shooters saying that, stay away from them. Learn how to load it and practice it, it's fun. You can challenge each other quad loading at home with dummy rounds. If we continue on this path of negative towards the shotgun it will eventually just be 2 gun and then somone will complain about that until we are back to outlaw uspsa. 

It's called 3 gun for a reason, you have to master all 3 guns. 

IOUU is absolutely right about watching other shooters, asking questions and running what you have until you figure out what divisions you want to shoot and what kind of gear appeals to you.  If you have to buy anything, keep it simple and inexpensive.  Then invest in practice!

Welcome to the sport!  LMK if you’re ever in the Las Vegas area.  We have matches running here almost every weekend.