Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

6mm Arc

sschultz

I have a 21” barrel on order with Odin Works alone with their Atlas comp. It’s on back order, but I’m in no hurry. I haven’t picked an upper yet, but I’m going to buy another Spikes lower to put it on. I’ve been shooting Grendel for a couple of years and when they announced this round, I was sold! Especially since I use the same projectile in my 6mm Creedmore. 

Kinda have my mind made up on a Compass Engineering Criterion 22 inch heavy barrel. I contacted JP rifles but they are currently not going to do the ARC .

i also got a feeling that since it was a Hornaday offering and not a Federal that they weren't intrested in it

It is pretty much just a 6 Grendel that has been around for years.

My 6 Grendel is scary accurate.  But if you try to make it into a 6 Creedmore or 243, you will have problems.  Learn to accept lower velocities than you are used to.

• 2 months later...

I'm super curious about the new 6mm ARC... Seems to me that it's sorta like the "new hotness" in the same way the 6 Dasher has/had been recently, except, with Military adoption and the big push by Hornady, a bunch of manufacturers are already jumping in both feet which hadn't really happened with the Dasher........

I put together a 6mm Creedmoor that I've been playing with and had pretty much decided I'd move to the 6 Dasher when my barrel is cooked and it became time for a new barrel, but now it's starting to look like I might need to take a hard look at the 6 ARC if it can do much of the same but is more widely adopted... IDK.

Anyone shot one and have an opinion versus the Dasher..?

Edited by ck1

seems military is adopting all kinds of things lately, Seems like I read it was using 6.8..
Is this 6mm ARC simply necked up 5.56 or is it a different brass.
I am thinking 350 legend when parts become available again. Everyone is sold out.

11 hours ago, Joe4d said:

Is this 6mm ARC simply necked up 5.56 or is it a different brass.