Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

First match, DQ'd for "Unsafe Gun Handling"

ard212

Hi, this is my first time posting in this forum, from the start I want to apologize if my english is not 100 % clear, not my native language.

I'm kind of a "New" gun owner, been shooting for a few months, decided to get into IPSC, took a class, signed up for a match in order to get "Certified", both RO teaching the class were very clear that my objective on this match shouldn't be to win or to get a high score, but to not get DQ'd, so, during the match, I wasn't focusing on hitting perfect shots, I was just trying to meet the required number of shots and mantain proper weapon handling.

While running the penultimate stage, I got stopped by the RO, asked to clear my weapon, and he gave me a DQ for "Unsafe Gun Handling", turns out that while engaging a target, I had a double miss, and well, I missed, bullets didn't hit the target, they hit the wall behind it, this had already happened once 2 stages before, I got a warning then, I didn't agree with the RO's logic, but I didn't want to make a fuss about it since it was just a warning.

My problem is, that was a safe direction for me to shoot, I was actively engaging the target, yes, the bullets missed the wooden plank behind the target, but the wooden plank was basically the same size as the target, if I were to miss, I was going to hit the wall, with that logic, the only targets that were "Safe" to miss where those at the back of the stage.

I contested the decision, RO called RM, he begrudgely agreed with him, I kept pushing the issue (Respectfuly) because I really didn't agree with their logic, but I was unable to convince them to change their mind.