Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Course walk / stage planning help!

-JCN-

I’m looking for some help from A/M/GM level shooters on how you go about stage planning for high cap divisions. 

I’m new to the sport and am a “paper A” shooter on classifiers but I still get lost on longer field courses, especially those with partially obscured targets and targets that can be engaged from multiple positions. 

I will often “out of sight out of mind” miss one of them or make a conscious decision to ignore one from one position and then forget to engage it from the position I should. 

Any advice on how to improve my “memory” for stage planning? What goes through your mind during stage planning and walk through?

I read the Enos book and tried to zen it, but I don’t quite have the bandwidth to make it unconsciously competent. 

Please share what you’ve done to improve and what you currently do as your routine and if you feel comfortable, what your current classification is. It helps me with interpretive context. 

Thank you!

Edited by -JCN-

A class since 2013.

Get a plan and stick to it. If you know that memory is a trick for you stick to "simple" plans. 

80% plan executed to 100% beats a 100% plan executed to 80%.

Walk it in your mind while resetting, chatting, ect until you have it memorized.

Walk the stage from the target point of view if you are not sure of all possible shooting locations for it.

If your mind keeps telling you to shoot a target from position A but B is the "right" position to shoot it from, just go with the flow and shoot it from A. Don't fight your mind and body unless you have to.

*Keep in mind all this changes as you feel you've overcome your problem. I used to skip 1 to 2 targets per match for the first 2 years of shooting. Still struggle with it sometimes.