Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Grip size too small?

Siberian

Greetings!

I am relatively new to pistols, have been shooting IPSC just over a year. The gun is CZ Shadowline, fully stock, except for fitted pre-B disconnector and minor internal clean ups. I can shoot it okay from time to time, but lack consistency. Took a class recently, and have been told the grip may be too narrow for my hand size (8.5 in surgical gloves, fairly long fingers). With two handed grip, my left palm sits mostly on the right finger tips and barely contacts the pistol. This leads to poor grip after 5-6 shots in rapid fire drills. Thinking about getting slightly thicker grip panels or maybe an upgrade to Shadow 2 - I find S1 / S2 much easier to control thanks to the checkering on front and back straps. My philosophy is to make the best use of the equipment I already have, but on the other hand one should not be running half-marathons in shoes that are a size too small...

grip.jpg

I’d recommend Lok bogies: palm swell or the thicker profile. I do not have a shadow, but I use Lok’s on my Stock 2 and they are great. The bogies are aggressive enough to help your support hand get a good grasp when you squeeze hard. If that isn’t big enough for your hand, you can always try a Tanfo and see if those fit your hands better

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I agree with  the LOK Palm Swells but I prefer the checkered vs the bogies. The checkered keep the gun put in my hand just as well as the bogies but don't chew me up as bad during long dry fire or live fire sessions. 

I use skateboard tape and wrap the grip in areas that I want to be thicker. This way I can fully customize the shape of the grip to my hand. I found that I am adding more and more tape, because a thicker grip works well for my hands (but the gun looks really ugly).