Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

coated bullets for major?

chgofirefighter

So I'm new to relaoding my own ammo, I'm using a Dillon 750 XL with a auto bullet feeder also an auto case feeder, my press is basically setup. However, I went ahead and got myself some coated bullets from ibijiheads, I do believe is their name.  My friend whos also a gunsmith and competitive shooter cautioned me not to use the coated bullet on a compensated gun I got about 2k bullets so what's the verdict?  I've heard a lot about Precision Delta JHP, next time I will be ordering the right bullets but is it ok for now for me to use these coated bullets?  

Pros and cons, advice or suggestions?  Thanks~

For the price you guys get jacketed first I’d shoot those every day if the week.

But coated are fine as well. Spray some oil in your comp before shooting and clean it out with a dremel engraving took a couple of times a year

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Try the Precisions, the coating is a lot different.  No smoke or lead fouling compared to typical Hitech coatings, same load otherwise.  My friend videoed me shooting both Precision and Brazos and its very obvious.  The coating seems to contain a moly lube that makes the barrel appear to be dirty but it wipes out super easy and the lands are clean. I never loaded them major but judging by minor performance I'd try it for sure.  

Precision warns not to use their bullets in compensated guns.  They get flame cut and lead the comp badly.  I'd suggest you sell the coated bullets you have and buy JHPs.  Your comp and your bullet feeder will appreciate it.  If you just have to use them, load them for minor and buy JHPs for major.

The only coated bullet maker that I'm aware of that doesn't hem and haw about using their bullets for Open is Eggleston Munitions.  Why bother?  For about the same price you can buy JHPs and be done with it.

2 hours ago, zzt said: