Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Noob USPSA Question

Snausages32

Hey guys,

I've been doing 3 Gun for a couple years, and have been tinkering with the idea of doing USPSA in Production. 

Noob question:   

• Each magazine must be contained individually within the magazine pouch

Does this mean that I'm going to need 4 or 5 pouches, or can I use the Uncle Mikes double pouches that I've been using?  1 mag per holder, or can I use doubles?

Thanks!

You can use doubles but your not going to want to if you take it seriously at all. 

I have 5 mag pouches on my belt when I shoot production. 2 or 3 when I shoot limited

Edited by Kraj

18 minutes ago, Kraj said:

You can use doubles but your not going to want to if you take it seriously at all. 

I have 5 mag pouches on my belt when I shoot production. 2 or 3 when I shoot limited

Just because I don't know, why?  What's the difference if I have 2 side by side (x2) vs 4/5 singles all further spaced apart?

Just now, Snausages32 said:

Just because I don't know, why?  What's the difference if I have 2 side by side (x2) vs 4/5 singles all further spaced apart?

Individual pouches give you more freedom to fine tune the angle and placement of each magazine. Also, many cheaper double pouches don’t let you adjust the tension on each pouch separately, which usually means that one mag is either too tight or too loose if the other is perfect.  

If you already have the doubles, they’re fine to get you started. 

Also when you're in a hurry having the extra space of singles reduces the chance of pulling two mags. One in your hand and one on the ground 

The equal spacing of single pouches can be easier to learn versus close far close far close of double pouch  pairs

Edited by rowdyb

18 minutes ago, HoMiE said:

Sending an email does not make it legal. But who cares at this point with all the other rule changes. Does not look like a competitive advantage anyway.