Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm tiny flash port?

Redaye

OK, I'm calling it a flash port because I don't know what else to call it. It's the hole in base of the casing between the primer and the powder. I'm a newb and don't have all the terminology down yet. Anyhow, when decapping I'll occasionally (like 1 per 100) run across a casing that has a very small hole. So small that the decapping pin can't get through it. I don't force it and remove the casing and discard it. What's up with these tiny "flash ports".

Edited by Redaye

It's not the size of the flash hole, but much more likely a crimped primer which can be hard to decap.  OTOH, Berdan primed cases have two tiny flash holes to the decapping pin is trying to punch through the case

17 minutes ago, RickT said:

It's not the size of the flash hole, but much more likely a crimped primer which can be hard to decap.  OTOH, Berdan primed cases have two tiny flash holes to the decapping pin is trying to punch through the case

No, it's the size of the hole. I have ran across these as well, and took these pics. I don't know what the headstamp is, but it is an odd ball case. The case on the right is a normal case.20160312_102023.thumb.jpg.80c5b7075a285abe4e39e726dc43d40f.jpg20160312_102023.thumb.jpg.80c5b7075a285abe4e39e726dc43d40f.jpg

20160312_101616.jpg

20160312_101644.jpg

They are getting more and more common in europe, especially with the nontox ammo from S&B but also other brands like RUAG/Geco. The leadfree primers are weaker then normal ones, might optimise the flame...

RUAG/DAG now even goes back to berdan flash holes but with boxer primers. I assume its to keep the pressures low in the primer with the +P+ action 4 duty ammo.

Gesendet von meinem Redmi Note 4 mit Tapatalk

16 hours ago, Flatland Shooter said:

What headstamp are on the brass that has these tiny flash holes?   And there is only one centered hole, right?

Years past I've had some decapping pins stick in 45 ACP brass but its rare.