Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Slider Racker or Not

SeattleDude

Slider Racker or Not   

72 members have voted

1. 1. Do you use Slide Racker on your 2011 Open Gun

• YES. Must have on Open
    • NO. I manage without it just fine

Hey crew. Wonder how many of you do NOT use slide rackers on your open 2011 pistols.

I just started shooting open and dont really feel the need for one. Plus it just looks like it could be very painful if somehow my thumb gets in the way.... ouch.

They provide an advantage  in my opinion especially if you run a sight that hangs off the back. If you just run a mini dot and have good serrations on the back of the slide you would be ok I guess. But for me it’s an option I’m allowed to have so I use them. 

i love me a slide racker. is it easy to grab the slide? sure. but its even EASIER to just hook a finger over the racker and be in a better position to get back on your grip. no brainer for me. 

I nearly lost a thumb nail on mine. It was pulled back and a little bloody.
I hit my thumb with it a total of three times but I stuck with it.
It’s an advantage. Good for table starts and it makes it easier and faster to rack the slide.
Just train yourself to keep your thumb down. A couple of whacks and you’ll learn quick!
I wouldn’t shoot open without it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Started off without one for a short time. Even using a RTS2 there isn’t much room for grabbing the slide. Put 45 degree rackers on both open guns. As soon as I tried one I put it on the limited gun also. Love them.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

^^^ This also. I watched a guy with shielded safety's bobble around for a period time trying to clear a jam. He had a hard time racking it , if he had a racker would not have fought it near as long .